About Limerick Hockey Club

Limerick Hockey Club was formed in the year 2000.  Back then there were many who questioned the wisdom of setting up a new club at a time when hockey was “dying” in Limerick, as in previous years Catholic Institute, Lansdowne and LPYMA all had had thriving clubs with only Catholic Institute continuing to prosper.

However Kieron Brislane, Peter Eacrett, Robert Ryan, Kevin Fleming and Malcolm Bell were brave enough to launch this new club and those doubters must now acknowledge that the progression of the club has been nothing short of dramatic.

Nobody could have anticipated that this fledgling club would grow to such national stature while winning “Munster Branch Club of Year” in 2007, the “IHA’s Youth Club of Year” in 2008 and the “IHA’s Emerging Club of the Year” in 2009.

In its early days the club had its ups and downs. Originally it only catered for men with a mixed junior section. There were 50 senior and 50 juniors members. Today Limerick Hockey Club has 450 members made up of 330 juniors (aged 5-14), 120 seniors, as well as 50+ coaches/administrators.

Our Junior Hockey takes place at 2 venues (Villiers School and University of Limerick), servicing Limerick City & County as well Counties Clare and Tipperary.

Our Senior Men & Ladies teams train and play matches in Villiers School, North Circular Road. In 2016/17 we have 2 Men's Teams playing in Division 1 & 3 and 3 Ladies teams playing in Divisions 1, 3 & 5.

Honours List

Click here to view our Honours List and Awards